

NATIONAL INDIAN EDUCATION ASSOCIATION

1514 P St. NW Suite B, Washington, DC 20005 (202) 544-7290 (Phone) (202) 544-7293 (Fax) NIEA@niea.org (E-mail) www.NIEA.org

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Board Members Attendees	Present	Absent	Absent
		Excused	Unexcused
1. President, Yatibaey Evans	X		
2. Vice-President, Dr. Sylvia Hussey	X		
3. Secretary, Angie Butler	X		
4. Treasurer, Brett Locklear		X	
5. Parliamentarian, Robin Butterfield	X		
6. President-Elect, Dr. Jolene Bowman	X		
7. Member, Robert Cook		X	
8. Member, Fredina Drye-Romero	X		
9. Student Board Member, TaNeel Filesteel	X		
10. Member, Renee Holt	X		
11. Student Board Member, Caitlin Tozier		X	
12. Member, Patsy Whitefoot	X		
Staff/Guest Time Log In		Time In	Time Out
Executive Director, Ahniwake Rose (not present for vote)			

NATIONAL INDIAN EDUCATION ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING ORLANDO, FLORIDA

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

1. Call Meeting to Order

President Yatibaey Evans called the meeting to order at 12:00 noon EST, TaNeel Filesteel took notes for Secretary Angie Butler; and the President noted the circumstances and reasons for calling the emergency Board meeting.

2. Approval of BOD Emergency Actions Needed

Action: Moved by Yatibaey Evans to accept the resignation of Board of Director (BOD) Brett Locklear; seconded by Sylvia Hussey; after discussion, all approved, no opposition or abstentions, motion carried.

Action: Moved by Sylvia Hussey to direct NIEA Executive Director (ED) Ahniwake Rose to fill the vacated BOD position by following NIEA's Constitution and By-law process; seconded by Robin Butterfield; after discussion, no opposition, no abstentions, motion carried.

Discussion: The seat will be filled for the remainder of the term by the candidate (2018) with the highest votes from the last election and theED will contact Florinda Jackson to see if she will accept the position. After a verbal acceptance by Florinda Jackson, and a Board vote, a formal letter will be sent to her. BOD President Yatibaey Evans will draft a memo outlining the above for NIEA records and a thank you letter acknowledging and thanking the Brett Locklear for his service to NIEA.

3. Adjournment

President Yatibaey Evans adjourned the meeting at 2:30 p.m. EST