NIEA is proud to host its Annual Awards Luncheon to honor teachers, educators, parents, elders, and individuals or groups who make a significant impact in their communities and schools. This year we honored five of our members for their accomplishments in improving the quality of life for American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian communities through education.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Joyce Silverthorne (Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes)

William Demmert Cultural Freedom Award: First Alaskans Institute (Alaska Native)

Educator of the Year: Dr. Heather Shotton (Wichita, Kiowa, and Cheyenne)

Elder of the Year: Dave Archambault, Sr. (Standing Rock Sioux Tribe)

Community Service Award: Chuck Hoskin, Sr. (Cherokee Nation)

Parent of the Year: Petra Gonzalez-Wilson (Oglala Lakota)

Classroom Teacher of the Year: Tara Kauk (Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Oklahoma)