STATE INDIAN EDUCATION OFFICES

Alabama
Mr. Darryl Washington
Alabama State Department of Education
Federal Programs Section
Gordon Persons Building
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36104-3833
Ph: (334) 242-8199
Fax: (334) 242-0496
dwashington@alsde.edu

Alaska
Ms. Yatibaey Evans, Director
Alaska Native Education Program
Fairbanks North Star Borough School District
520 Fifth Avenue, 4th Floor, Suite A
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Ph: (907) 452-2000 ext. 11462
Fax: (907) 452-3172
yatibaey.evans@k12northstar.org
http://www.k12northstar.org/domain/1094

Ms. Doreen Brown, Executive Director
Title VII, Indian Education
Anchorage School District
5530 E Northern Lights Boulevard
Anchorage, AK 99504
Ph: (907) 742-4445
Fax: (907) 742-4585
brown_doreen@asdk12.org
http://www.asdk12.org/titlevii/

Mr. Brian Laurent
Data Management Supervisor
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
PO Box 110500
Juneau, AK 99811-0500
Ph: (907) 465-8418
brian.laurent@alaska.gov

Arizona
Ms. Nadine Groenig
Director of Indian Education
Arizona State Department of Education
1535 West Jefferson, Bin #14
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Ph: (602) 542-5235
Fax: (602) 542-3100
dnorris@ade.az.gov

California
Ms. Judy Delgado
Education Program Consultant
California State Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 6408
Sacramento, CA 95814
P: (916) 319-0506
Fax: (916) 319-0139
judelgado@cde.ca.gov

Colorado
Morgan Cox, Interim Director
Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education Office
Colorado Department of Education
1506 Broadway, Suite 1100
Denver, CO 80202
Ph: (303) 866-6777
brock-nguyen_D@cde.state.co.us
https://www.cde.state.co.us/offices/languagecultureequityoffice

Georgina Owen
Title VII Coordinator
Colorado Department of Education
1506 Broadway, Suite 1100
Denver, CO 80202
Ph: (702) 648-0482
Owen_G@cde.state.co.us
https://www.cde.state.co.us/offices/languagecultureequityoffice

Florida
Ann Whitney, Director of Standards
Bureau of Standards and Instructional Support
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 424
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
Phone: (850) 245-9965
Fax: (850) 245-0826
Ann.Whitney@fldoe.org
http://www.fldoe.org/academics/standards/
Hawaii
Kau‘i Sang, Director
Office of Hawaiian Education
Hawaii Department of Education
1390 Miller St.
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 305-9723
dawn_kaui_sang@hawaiidoe.org
http://www.hawaiipublicschools.org/TeachingAndLearning/StudentLearning/HawaiianEducation/Pages/home.aspx

Idaho
Ms. Johanna J. Jones
Idaho State Department of Education
Office of Indian Education
State Department of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0027
Ph: (208) 332-6968
Fax: (208) 334-2228
jjones@sde.idaho.gov
www.sde.idaho.gov/indian-ed/

Kansas
Ms. Julie Ewing
ESOL/Bilingual Education and Title III
Title Programs and Services
Kansas State Department of Education
120 SE 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
Ph: (785) 296-4906
jawing@ksde.org
http://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Early-Childhood-Special-Education-and-Title-Services/Title-Services/Title-III-State-ESOL

Maine
Mr. David Fisk, State Director
Migrant Education Program
23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0023
Ph: (207) 624-6722
david.fisk@maine.gov
http://maine.gov/doe/migrant/

Maryland
Mr. Woody Grant
Maryland Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Ph: (410) 767-0425
Fax: (410) 767-0431
wgrant@msde.state.md.us

Minnesota
Dr. Dennis Olson
Director of Indian Education
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 W
Roseville, MN 55113-4266
Ph: (651) 582-8300
Fax: (651) 582-8879
dennis.w.olson@state.mn.us

Montana
Mandy Smoker Broaddus
Director of Indian Education
Office of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, MT 59620-2501
Ph: (406) 444-3013
Fax: (406) 444-3924
mbroaddus@mt.gov

Nebraska
Ms. Frieda Lange
Administrator
Accreditation and School Improvement
P.O. Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
Ph: (402) 471-2960
Fax: (402) 471-8329
frieda.lange@nebraska.gov

Nevada
Ms. Fredina Drye-Romero
Nevada Department of Education
Indian Education Consultant
700 East 5th Street, Ste. 110
Carson City, NV 89701-5096
Ph: (775) 687-9143
Fax: (775) 687-9250
fromero@doe.nv.gov

New Mexico
Ms. Latifah Phillips
Assistant Secretary for Indian Education
New Mexico Public Education Department
Jerry Apodaca Education Building
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
Ph: (505) 476-0545
latifah.phillips@state.nm.us
http://ped.state.nm.us/ped/IED_contacts.html

New York
Ms. Clarissa Jacobs-Roraback
New York State Department of Education
Native American Education- Room 462 EBA
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234
Ph: (518) 474-0537
Fax: (518) 474-3666
Clarissa.Jacobs-Roraback@nysed.gov

North Carolina
Ms. Debora Williams
Academic Services and Instructional Support
State Advisory Council on Indian Education
6368 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6368
Ph: (919) 807-3912
debora.williams@dpi.nc.gov
http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/americanindianed/advisory/

North Dakota
Mr. Robert V. Marthaller
Assistant State Superintendent
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 E Blvd. Avenue, 11th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58505-0440
Ph: (701) 328-2267
Fax: (701) 328-2461
rvmarthaller@nd.gov
http://www.dpi.state.nd.us

And Ms. Lucy Fredericks
Director Indian Education
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 E Blvd. Avenue, 11th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58505-0440
Ph: (701) 328-1718
Fax: (701) 328-2461
lkfredericks@nd.gov
http://www.dpi.state.nd.us

Oklahoma
Dwight M. Pickering
Director of American Indian Education
Oklahoma State Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suoite 316
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Ph: (405) 522-1591
Fax: (405) 522-1519
Dwight_Pickering@sde.state.ok.us
http://sde.state.ok.us

Oregon
Ms. April Campbell
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
Ph: (503) 947-5810
Fax: (503) 378-5156
april.campbell@state.or.us

South Dakota

Mr. Mato Standing High
Director, Office of Indian Education
South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governors Drive-McKay Building
Pierre SD, 57501
Ph: (605) 280-7964
Fax: (503) 773-6139
Mato.StandingHigh@state.sd.us
www.doe.sd.gov/

Utah
Dr. Chuck Foster, Ed.D
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
P: (801) 538-7838
Fax: (801) 538-7769
chuck.foster@schools.utah.gov

Washington
Mr. Michael M. Vendiola
Program Supervisor
Office of Indian Education
P.O. Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98504-7200
Ph: (360) 725-6160
Cell: (360) 515-8023
Michael.Vendiola@k12.wa.us

Wisconsin
Mr. David J. O’Connor
American Indian Studies Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
125 S. Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-3474
Ph: (608) 267-2283 or 800-441-4563
David.Oconnor@dpi.wi.gov
http://amind.dpi.wi.gov

Wyoming
Ms. Thomas (Tom) Collins
Social Studies, Content Specialist
Native American, Content Specialist
AP/GT Coordinator
Wyoming Department of Education
2020 Grand Avenue, Suite 500
Laramie, WY 82070-4382
Ph: (307) 777-3493
Fax: (307) 777-6719
tcolli@educ.state.wy.us